B-Day Blog

Colleen Camp as ‘Yvette’ in “Clue”Today is my birthday (boo, hiss!), so in a desperate attempt to distract myself from the usual self-pity and angst, I decided to check out the Wikipedia page for today’s date, and see if anyone worth blogging about shared my “special day”. Besides my new fave actor Michael Cera (of Scott Pilgrim fame), Adam Buxton (of Hot Fuzz fame) and Larisa Oleynik (of 10 Things I Hate About You fame), two names immediately leapt out at me for reasons which should be pretty obvious from the pictures posted here. It’s not that I deliberately set out to find actresses who were known for their décolletage… it’s just a happy co-inky-dink. And yes, I did briefly consider using the words “boob-day” in the title of this post, because I am a sad, sad man.

First up, Colleen Camp: My parents were always big fans of the Police Academy flicks, so I wound up watching most of them several times over, as a youngling. I vaguely remember that raging gun-nut ‘Tackleberry’ was one of my favourite characters, but I don’t recall much about Camp’s appearance as his love-interest ‘Sgt. Kathleen Kirkland’ in PA 2: Their First Assignment (1985)… other than the rather corny scene where he mistakes her for a man in all her motorcycle gear, until she removes her helmet to shake out her hair! I was probably too young to appreciate how sexy she was at the time… but I was well into my late teens by the time I first saw Clue (1985), and far more appreciative of her appearance as the provocatively dressed “French maid”, ‘Yvette’. I know I must have been either 17 or 18 when the movie aired on TV over here, because I remember having a row with a college classmate about it… basically he thought it was far too silly to be funny, and I thought that the silliness was part of its charm. Certainly, it’s stuck in my mind a lot longer than more “serious” and critically-lauded comedies have… in fact, I ended up referencing that movie twice in the last script that I wrote! It staggers me to think that when it was originally released, the movie was shown with one of three possible endings, with different cinemas receiving different denouements… that must have led to some hilariously confusing conversations between friends and family members who saw it in different places! Thankfully the TV and “home video” version includes all three endings, one after the other, so you can enjoy Tim Curry’s energetic exposition in triplicate. Aside from those wackier roles, Camp’s actually had a pretty eclectic career, with titles like The Game of Death (1978), Apocalypse Now (1979), Wayne’s World (1992), Last Action Hero (1993), Die Hard: With a Vengeance (1995), The Ice Storm (1997) , and the awesome Election (1999) all listed on her resume.

Gia Carides as ‘Robin Swallows’ in “Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me”Gia Carides: Technically, the first time I saw her would have been in Strictly Ballroom (1992), playing the main protagonist’s close-minded former dancing partner… but I don’t really have any memory of that movie, beyond the fact that it was very sparkly. I find that Luhrmann’s work tends to get less and less enjoyable with repeated viewings, once the razzle-dazzle has worn off, but I am a sucker for Aussie accents, so I should probably revisit that one again sometime. The role where she really grabbed my attention was as ‘Robin Swallows’ in Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me (1999)… in fact, I had such a strong memory of the part where Austin repeatedly shakes her hand to make her breasts jiggle, I assumed it was part of the real movie, when it was actually just a deleted scene. It’s really a fairly thankless running joke of a role, but those flicks were hugely successful, so hopefully it gave her profile a pretty big boost. More recently, of course, I’ve been enjoying her fine work as ‘Cousin Nikki’ in My Big Fat Greek Wedding (2002), and the spin-off series, My Big Fat Greek Life (2003). Oh, and in a neat bit of cyclicality, she also appeared as the ‘Queen’ in Year One (2009), along with her fellow seventh-of-the-sixer Michael Cera! Hurrah!

About deecrowseer

A comic book writer with an interest in feminism, philosophy, and affirmative action.
This entry was posted in Rants about Films and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to B-Day Blog

  1. phantomxii says:

    Happy birthday! I feel I ought to tie this sentiment into the theme of your post, but saying “Go out and enjoy yourself some nice boobs” sounds a bit vulgar. Well, do it anyway. :-D

    • deecrowseer says:

      Unfortunately that seems to have become the theme of this blog in general… so I’d probably be better off spending the day taking cold showers, and re-reading my Dworkin book… not in the shower though, obviously…

  2. Pingback: No Messin’ | Thalia's Garden

  3. Pingback: Happy Blur’d Day! | Valet of the UltraVixens

Say what?

