Nosediving

Karine Vanasse as ‘Colette’ in “Pan Am”I wrote a post about Pan Am back when it first premiered in the States, but this week the series will be making its debut here in the UK, on BBC2. For no apparent reason, they’ve chosen to burn off the first four episodes over the course of the next four days, with eps #1.1 and #1.2 airing tonight, and eps #1.3 and #1.4 airing on Saturday. This seems like overkill to me, but what do I know? The TV mags are hyping the bejeezus outta this thing, so clearly someone thinks the tactic is going to pay-off!

I’ve just watched the most recent episode to air across the pond (#1.8), and reading back over my earlier post, I can’t help feeling that the series has failed to live up to the hopes that I had for it. I don’t want to get into any big spoilers here, but the writers have fatally undermined Christina Ricci’s character (‘Maggie’) in my eyes… and ‘Colette’ (Karine Vanasse) may still be cute as a button, but now she’s saddled with a backstory about being orphaned by the Nazis, which kinda takes the fun out of her episodes. I mean, there’s a time and a place for that sort of thing, but I really don’t think it’s appropriate here… or rather, it wouldn’t be appropriate in the sort of show I was anticipating after watching the pilot. They keep trying to tackle far too many big, heavy, serious subjects which are way out of their weight-class… and long gone is the “bright, smart, peppy slice of nostalgic escapism” that I first fell for. :(

I don’t know how the series is doing in its homeland ratings-wise, or how popular it will prove to be on this side of the pond, but my own interest is slowly but surely ebbing away. Le sigh…

About deecrowseer

A comic book writer with an interest in feminism, philosophy, and affirmative action.
This entry was posted in Rants about TV and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Say what?

