R.I.P. Victoria Wood CBE (1953 – 2016)

Victoria Wood as 'Victoria' in "Victoria Wood"More sad news for British comedy fans I’m afraid, as this increasingly tragic “Giant Killer” of a year claims yet another cultural icon: The much-loved comedienne, actress, singer/songwriter, screenwriter, and director, Victoria Wood. Although I haven’t mentioned her nearly enough on this blog, she was a major figure in my formative years as a TV viewer, and particular lines from her work still regularly echo in my brain, when appropriate… or inappropriate, as the case may be. Besides all the laughter and music (I still have a copy of her Comic Relief “Smile Song” single in my record box), she also turned me on to the miraculous powers of a nice hot cuppa, so bless her for all that, and more besides. Obviously I need to add her BBC boxset to my “buy” list immediately… though I’m very disappointed that it doesn’t include her All Day Breakfast special, which was a big fave of mine back in the day… thank goodness for YouTube, eh? I’ll be watching that tonight, in her honour…

About deecrowseer

A comic book writer with an interest in feminism, philosophy, and affirmative action.
This entry was posted in Rants about Music, Rants about TV and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to R.I.P. Victoria Wood CBE (1953 – 2016)

  1. Pingback: R.I.P. Victoria Wood CBE (1953 – 2016) | davidparrcloud

Say what?

